healing butternut squash soup // Caroline

Okay so I realize butternut squash soup is not in season during May and a root vegetable soup is maybe the last thing on your brain. But here in Homer, Alaska (where I currently reside) its cold and rainy. Also, there doesn’t really seem much of a growing culture here so finding seasonal food is really rather impossible unless you know someone or its the summer and the farmer’s market is happening. So alas, I’m stuck with what the grocery store has to offer. However, the real reason I made this soup is because I was feeling under the weather and I like to make this soup when I’m sick or sad because it always manages to make me feel better (even if its for the ~20 minutes while I eat it). It’s also #delicious and fairly easy to make if you plan ahead a bit and do stuff while the veggies are roasted. I originally got this recipe off a blog I like, (Elizabeth Rider) but I’ve adapted it a bit to make it easier to make and for a little richer flavor.

Ingredients:

1  butternut squash (mid-large sized)

1 lb carrots (or parsnips would be yummy too!)

1 apple

1/2 yellow onion

2 garlic gloves (leave skins on while roasting)

Olive oil (~2 Tbsp)

4 cups veggie broth (I prefer high quality liquid broth rather than cubes because it tastes better to me but if you don’t want to spend the extra bucks bouillon cubes are fine)

1 Tbsp curry power

1 knob freshly cut up ginger

1/4 tsp ginger powder (opt.)

1/2 tsp ground turmeric  or 1 knob fresh (for the ~healing~ powers) (opt.)

1 Tbsp honey (or maple syrup)

salt and pepper

Directions: 

Set oven to 400 degrees. Peel and chop butternut squash into ~1 inch cubes (alternatively if I am feeling lazy I will just the whole thing in half and roast it that way and scoop the insides out later). Chop carrots. Peel and cut onion half. Core and slice apple in half. Lay squash, carrots, onion, apple and garlic (skin on) on tray. drizzle with olive oil and generously sprinkle salt and pepper on everything. Roast till veggies are slightly brown and soft (about 30-40 min.) Flip halfway through to ensure even roasting, Sometimes the apple and garlic gets done before the others so I will take them out at about 25 min.

After veggies are roasted, add them in a big pot with the vegetable broth and the rest of the ingredients/spices. Bring to a boil and then down to a simmer. Simmer for about 20 minutes until everything is soft.

Okay, here comes the messy part! Once the soup has simmered for a bit, let it cool down a bit (or not if you’re feeling brave) and then slowly using a measuring cup add it into a blender till the blender is half full. Blend it till smooth and then transfer into another pot/bowl. Keep repeating that until all the soup is pureed. Pour all the pureed soup back into the big pot and let simmer for 10 more minutes or until you are ready to eat. Top with quinoa, sprinkle with seeds, pour over rice or eat it alone. I often finish the whole pot in one day!

Happy eating,

Caroline

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

