My very favorite smoothie // Caroline

Okay if I am being honest with you I didn’t really see the appeal in smoothies – especially making one at home. Sure I found them tasty, but I never went out of my way to ensure that I had smoothie making ingredients around in case I wanted one. But now…man… ever since I tried this smoothie I had been hooked! It’s unlike any smoothie I’ve ever ordered somewhere and its so so so so good. Plus it fills me up. Seriously, I’m a near constant snacker and get hungry like an hour after every meal, but this fills me up all morning and beyond. I feel like adding avocado to smoothies is kind of a  foodie/health blog/pintrest trend but oh well its a trend for a reason. It’s so damn good and makes it so smooth. I feel a little weird about it cause I’ve never lived in area where avocados are grown locally (or bananas for that matter!) so this is one of those treats that is only possible by our globalized world.

I put the smoothie in a bowl and add toppings to make it more filling.

 

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana (make sure its frozen b/c the consistency is better that way)

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 avocado

2 tablespoons almond butter

1 – 2 tablespoons maple syrup/honey/agave nectar (add more if you like sweeter things)

~1 teaspoon vanilla

~1 teaspoon cinnamon

Additional Toppings:

granola/muesli, banana slices, other fruit, nuts, cooked quinoa or buckwheat

Also sometimes I’ll add a cup of kale or a little bit of turmeric to the smoothie depending on what I feel like.

IMG_5292

(taken on my couch this afternoon while nursing a hangover and watching The Office )

Leave a Reply

